Delhi, city and national capital region, north-focal India. The city of Delhi really comprises of two segments: Old Delhi, in the north, the noteworthy city; and New Delhi, in the south, since 1947 the capital of India, worked in the initial segment of the twentieth century as the capital of British India.

One of the nation’s biggest urban agglomerations, Delhi sits with on leg on each side of (yet basically on the west bank of) the Yamuna River, a tributary of the Ganges (Ganga) River, around 100 miles (160 km) south of the Himalayas. The national capital domain grasps Old and New Delhi and the encompassing metropolitan locale, just as adjoining country territories. Toward the east the domain is limited by the province of Uttar Pradesh, and toward the north, west, and south it is limited by the territory of Haryana.

Delhi is of extraordinary verifiable hugeness as a significant business, transport, and social center point, just as the political focus of India. As per legend, the city was named for Raja Dhilu, a lord who reigned in the area in the first century BCE. The names by which the city has been known—including Delhi, Dehli, Dilli, and Dhilli, among others—likely are defilements of his name. Region Old Delhi, 360 square miles (932 square km); national capital domain, 573 square miles (1,483 square km). Pop. Old Delhi, (2001) 12,260,000; national capital region, (2001) 13,850,507; Old Delhi, (2011) 11,007,835; national capital region, (2011) 16,753,235.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *